Distinguished Teaching Award

Ralph Keen 2023 Honoree

The American Catholic Historical Association is honored to bestow the 2023 Distinguished Teaching Award on Ralph Keen, Professor and Arthur J. Schmitt Foundation Chair in Catholic Studies and Dean of the Honors College at the University of Illinois Chicago.

He is the author of Exile and Restoration in Jewish Thought: An Essay in Interpretation (2009); The Christian Tradition (2004); and Divine and Human Authority in Reformation Thought: German Theologians on Political Order, 1520-1555 (1997).

Past Winners

2023Ralph KeenUniversity of Illinois Chicago
2022Kristy Nabhan-WarrenUniversity of Iowa
2021Rev. Steven AvellaMarquette University
2020not awarded
2019James O’TooleBoston College
2018Wilson Miscamble, C.S.C.University of Notre Dame
2017Anne KlejmentUniversity of St. Thomas
2016Jeffrey M. BurnsFranciscan School of Theology and the University of San Diego
2015Rev. Clyde F. CrewsBellarmine University
2014Dennis R. RyanCollege of New Rochelle
2013Roy P. DomenicoUniversity of Scranton
2012Reverend Cyprian Davis, O.S.B.St. Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology and Institute of Black Catholic Studies, Xavier University of Louisiana
2011Angelyn Dries, O.S.F.St. Louis University