Distinguished Scholar Award

Margaret McGuinness
2023 Honoree

The American Catholic Historical Association is honored to bestow the 2023 Distinguished Scholar Award on Margaret McGuinness, Professor Emeritus at LaSalle University and former President of the ACHA.

She is the author of Katharine Drexel and the Sisters Who Shared Her Vision: The Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament (2023)Called to Serve: A History of American Nuns (2013), and Neighbors and Missionaries: A History of the Sisters of Our Lady of Christian Doctrine (2012).

Past Winners

Year Awardee Affiliation
2022 Margaret McGuiness LaSalle University
2021 Rev. Kevin P. Spicer, CSC Stonehill College
2020 not awarded
2019 Ellen Skerrett Independent Scholar
2018 Philip Gleason University of Notre Dame
2017 Rev. Gerald P. Fogarty, S.J. University of Virginia
2016 William Issel San Francisco State University
2015 Walter S. Melion Emory University
2014 William Portier University of Dayton
2013 James T. Fisher Fordham University
2012 Reverend Marvin R. O’Connell University of Notre Dame
2011 John O’Malley, S.J. Georgetown University