The John Gilmary
Shea Prize

The Shea Prize at a Glance

Please be sure to consult the submission rules and the rest of the information on this page for the full award requirements.
What it is:

The Shea Prize honors a book that has made the most “original and distinguished contribution” to the history of the Catholic Church.

What works are eligible:

Any book with a 2019 imprint date.





Winner announced:

Fall 2020

Submission instructions:

Complete the online form and have three hard-copy versions of your work available for postal mailing.

Submission deadline: July 1, 2020 

About the Shea Prize

The John Gilmary Shea Prize is given annually to the author of a book, published during a preceding twelve-month period, which is judged by a committee of experts to have made the most original and distinguished contribution to knowledge of the history of the Catholic Church.

Any author who is a citizen or permanent resident of the United States or Canada is eligible. The award consists of $1,500.

Prize Committee


Una Cadegan
Department of History
University of Dayton
Humanities 400
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 – 1540



Judge and contact information will be posted pending finalization.


A. Katie Stirling-Harris
University of California, Davis

Submission Rules

The general rules for submission are:

  1. The book must have been published in 2019.
  2. The author must be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States or Canada.
  3. The submitter must send a hard copy of the book to the each of the three award judges. Their contact and mailing information is provided on the submission form.

Submission deadline: July 1, 2020