ACHA Awards & Prizes

Since its founding in 1919, recognizing outstanding scholarship has been one of the ACHA’s key missions. To that end, the Association has established several awards to honor the best research and writing in our field.
The pages in this section contain the complete rules and information for applying for these awards. In most cases, applications can be made online. If you have questions about any of the awards, the best point of contact is the chair of the prize committee for the award in question. 

The recipients of 2021 awards and prizes have been announced. 

The Presidential Graduate Student Travel Grant is awarded annually to a student or students presenting at the Annual or Spring Meetings. The grant is intended to offset travel expenses for the student. Any ACHA Student Member enrolled in a graduate program of study is eligible to apply. 

Submission deadline: September 1, 2022

The Peter Guilday Prize is awarded for a manuscript, accepted by the editor of the Catholic Historical Review, that is the author’s first scholarly publication. The winning article will be published in the CHR in the following year.

Submission deadline: September 1, 2021

Layout 1

The Cyprian Davis, O.S.B Prize recognizes works in progress that promise to make significant contributions to the study of the Black Catholic experience. The prize, established in the fall of 2020, is awarded in conjunction with the Cushwa Center at the University of Notre Dame.

Submission deadline: December 31, 2021

The Helen & Howard R. Marraro Prize is given annually to the author of a book that is judged by a committee of experts to be the most distinguished work dealing with Italian history or Italo-American history or relations that has been published in a preceding twelve-month period.

Submissions open: March 1, 2022
Submission deadline: May 15, 2022


The ACHA Summer Research and Writing Grants are typically used to fund travel, but because of the coronavirus pandemic, this year we are encouraging the grant be used to support writing. We are also inviting contingent faculty to apply for the award, in addition to our usual audience of graduate students. 

Submission deadline: March 30, 2022

The John Tracy Ellis Dissertation Award memorializes the scholarship and teaching of Monsignor Ellis (1905-1992). Its purpose is to assist a graduate student working on some aspect of the history of the Catholic Church.

Submission deadline: extended to May 23, 2022

The John Gilmary Shea Prize is given annually to the author of a book, published during a preceding twelve-month period, which is judged by a committee of experts to have made the most original and distinguished contribution to knowledge of the history of the Catholic Church.

Submission deadline: extended to May 23, 2022