The Helen & Howard R.
Marraro Prize in Italian History

The Marraro Prize at a Glance

Please be sure to consult the submission rules and the rest of the information on this page for the full award requirements.
What it is:

The Marraro Prize honors a book or article on Italian or Italo-American history or relations.

What works are eligible:

Any book or article with a 2021 imprint date.





Winner announced:

October 2022

Submission instructions:

Complete the online form and have three hard-copy versions of your work available for postal mailing.

Submissions open: March 2023
Submission deadline: May 2023

About the Marraro Prize

The Helen & Howard R. Marraro Prize in Italian History is given annually to the author of a book that is judged by a committee of experts to be the most distinguished work dealing with Italian history or Italo-American history or relations that has been published in a preceding twelve-month period. It is named in memory of Howard R. Marraro (1879-1972), a Columbia University professor and the author of more than a dozen books on Italian literature, history, and culture.

In his last will Professor Marraro bequeathed to the Association a sum to be invested as a fund, the income from which would be awarded each year as a prize. The present amount of the prize is $1500.

Submission Rules

The general rules for submission are:

  1. Entries must be published in English by historians whose usual residence is in North America.
  2. Books with a copyright of 2021 are eligible for the 2022 award.
  3. Nomination submissions may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. Authors or publishers may submit the same book for multiple AHA prizes.
  4. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  5. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Marraro Prize Entry.” Print copies preferred unless otherwise indicated. If only e-copy is available, please contact review committee members beforehand to arrange submission format.

Please Note: Entries must be received by May 15, 2022, to be eligible for the 2022 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced on the AHA website in October 2022 and recognized during a ceremony at the January 2023 AHA annual meeting in Philadelphia.

If you have questions, please contact the prize administrator.

Past Winners