ACHA Announces 2019 Award Recipients

The American Catholic Historical Association is pleased to announce the winners of our 2019 prizes and awards.

We look forward to honoring all prize and award recipients at the annual ACHA luncheon, to be held on Saturday, January 4 at noon during our 100th Annual Meeting in New York.

Announcements on the two remaining 2019 ACHA prizes, the John Tracy Ellis Dissertation Award and the Peter Guilday Prize, will be made later this year.

2019 ACHA Distinguished Award for Scholarship

Ellen Skerrett, independent researcher

2019 ACHA Distinguished Award for Teaching

James O’Toole, Boston College

2019 ACHA Distinguished Award for Service

2019 Koenig Prize for Biography

The Koenig Prize honors an article that focuses on the life of a Catholic personage.

2019 John Gilmary Shea Prize

Karin Vélez, The Miraculous Flying House of Loreto: Spreading Catholicism in the Early Modern World (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2019; published December 2018).

The John Gilmary Shea Prize honors a book on Catholic history generally.

2019 Helen & Howard R. Marraro Prize

The Marraro Prize honors a book on Italian or Italo-American history.

2019 John Tracy Ellis Dissertation Award

Steven M. Koeth, CSC, The Suburban Church: Catholic Parishes and Politics in Metropolitan New York, 1945-1985,” PhD Candidate, Columbia University.

The Ellis Dissertation Award is awarded to a doctoral student in the field of Catholic Studies with a promising, but not-yet-completed dissertation.