2020 Spring Meeting
April 17-18
University of Scranton

Call for papers now open

2020 Spring Meeting At a Glance


April 17-18, 2020


The University of Scranton, Scranton, Pa.


Open now. Scroll down to submit.

Contact person:

Roy Domenico, Professor of History, University of Scranton.

Call for Papers

The American Catholic Historical Association invites paper and panel proposals for its annual Spring Meeting at The University of Scranton. Individual papers will be accepted for review although the submission of complete (or nearly complete) panels/roundtables greatly facilitate the process. Presenters must register for the spring meeting and are strongly encouraged to join the ACHA. Graduate students and younger scholars are especially encouraged to consider presenting papers.

Proposals are accepted via our online submission system, accessible via the green buttons at the bottom of this call for proposals.

For each panel or roundtable proposal, please provide the title of the panel, the names and titles of chairs/discussants and presenters, and the titles of the papers.

For each paper proposal, please provide a 200-word prospectus (no prospectus is necessary for the panel as a whole) and a one-page CV (per presenter).

Questions about the call for proposals should be addressed to Professor Robert Shaffern of the University of Scranton History Department at robert.shaffern@scranton.edu.

Submission deadline: January 10, 2020

About Scranton, Pa.

Wedged between New York and New Jersey and easily accessible via interstate and air connections, northeast Pennsylvania has a rich history from the Revolutionary War through the Industrial Revolution, the Labor Movement, and is the home of “The Office” and Joe Biden.

About the University

Founded in 1888 by the Diocese, St. Thomas College was later passed to the Christian Brothers who renamed it The University of Scranton in 1938. The Jesuits then assumed the administration of the University in 1942. The University also recently unveiled the Gail and Francis Slattery Humanities Center.

Headquarters hotel

For the ACHA spring meeting, a block of rooms has been reserved at the Radisson Lackawanna Hotel, Scranton’s former railroad station which has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is a short walking distance from the University and Conference sites.